top of page

January 18 - February 20, 2022

Exhibition "Samson Young​"

Photo: Noboru Morikawa


We are delighted to announce that we will be holding an exhibition of new video audio works by Hong Kong-based composer and artist Samson Young. This exhibition will feature the complete version of his video work “Sonata for Smoke”, which was presented during his residency at Ryosoku-in Temple in Kyoto in 2020, and his new work “Reasonable Music (Lyrica)“, which will be shown for the first time in Japan.

We hope this occasion presenting Young’s works at Taiza Studio located in the Kyotango region of northern Kyoto will be welcomed locally and broadly. 

Date: Fri, Sat, and Sun from January 18 to February 20, 2022, 11:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.  

Place: Taiza Studio (access

Admission: TOMORROW FIELD Members and 16 years old and younger are free.  

      General Admission: 1,500 yen (Half price for Kyotango citizens with ID.)  

Sponsored by: Agency for Cultural Affairs, TOMORROW





Samson Young

Multi-disciplinary artist Samson Young was trained as a composer, and graduated with a Ph.D. in Music Composition from Princeton University in 2013. In 2017, he represented Hong Kong in a solo project at the Hong Kong Pavilion of the 57th Venice Biennale. He has recently presented in Performa 19, New York (2019); Talbot Rice Gallery, Edinburgh (2019); SMART Museum, Chicago (2019); Centre A Vancouver International Centre for Contemporary Asian Art (2019); and De Appel, Amsterdam (2018/19). 



Related Event

"Kyotango Hong Kong Dim Sum" at Taiza Kitchen

Tetsuo Yoshioka, owner of the Asian fusion restaurant “Berangkat” in Kyoto City, will cook for two days to serve Hong Kong dim sum using ingredients from Kyotango, along with tea.

Date & Time: Sunday, January 30, 14:00-17:00, Monday, January 31, 12:00-15:00    Capacity: 3 people (per hour. Reservation required) 

Fee: 3,500 yen (exhibition viewing fee, two dim sum dishes, tea)  


Reasonable Music (Lyrica), shooting documentation       

Photo credit: Dennis Man Wing Leung                            

Courtesy the artist and Hong Kong New Music Ensemble

bottom of page